danceScape.com    forums.danceScape.com    Forums - Live, Love, Laugh ... Dance!  Hop To Forum Categories  danceScape SkyhiClub Lounge: Welcome to the Skyhi Life!  Hop To Forums  WELLNESS    Is it possible to strengthen Ligaments/Tendons? (possible stupid question)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is it possible to strengthen Ligaments/Tendons? (possible stupid question) Login/Join

PreBronze
posted   Reply With QuoteReport This Post  
I know you can strengthen muscle, but can you strengthen the fibers of ligaments and tendons? I had knee injuries in the past that continue to haunt me, and although I have significantly strengthened the muscles around my knees, I am wondering if its possible to strength tendons and ligaments, because that is where I think most of my problems still lie.
Silver
posted   Hide PostReply With QuoteReport This Post  
Disclaimer: I'm not a health expert nor do I claim to be one.

Perhaps a diet with more collagen would help? Lots and lots of Jello, or pig skin(not fried). You can also try eating just cow ligaments and tendon. They are usually available at some american groccery stores, and most asian groccery stores.

Also, you might want to talk to a physical therapist if the problem worsens.

PreBronze
quote:
Originally posted by Latin Mambo:
I know you can strengthen muscle, but can you strengthen the fibers of ligaments and tendons? I had knee injuries in the past that continue to haunt me, and although I have significantly strengthened the muscles around my knees, I am wondering if its possible to strength tendons and ligaments, because that is where I think most of my problems still lie.

My understanding of the situation is that resistance training improves the strength of not just muscle, but also the supporting infrastructure - tendons, ligaments, and bones. In fact, I believe I've read that a lifetime of resistance training is a good way to help reduce ones risk of osteoperosis.