Notify
Tools

Blacks in Ballroom Login/Join

PreBronze
Picture of Bonnie Prater
posted   Hide PostReply With QuoteReport This Post  
quote:
Originally posted by DanceAm:
I find the Ballroom community to be very cliquish anyway. Social Dancers vs. Competitors, American vs. International, Studio vs. Studio, Pro/Am vs. Am/Am.

This is soooo true, and let me add Ballroom vs. Country & Western, Ballroom vs. WC Swing, Ballroom vs. Lindy Hop, Ballroom vs. Arg. Tango, Arg. Tango vs. everyone else Big Grin etc. etc.

I was at a Lindy Hop dance last weekend. I am a dance generalist. I like it all. I am an expert at none of it, but fairly good at all of it. I caught up with a man who is into Internation style. He spend most of the evening stating how International style was better than all other types of dance (need graemlin with crossed eyes here). We danced a few partial Quicksteps when the Lindy Hoppers gave us enough room. He was at the dance only because his friend was the guest of honor at the dance.

quote:
I also think pretty, young, and slender women tend to be the first pick for men choosing a partner.

Also true. I have been dancing for 20 years in the ballroom community, and as I have aged, the chances to dance if I am not in a "clique" of friends has drastically reduced over time. I leave it up to you to imagine how the "pretty" and "slender" traits have also changed. Wink

quote:
I actually think a Social Dance should be renamed an "Anti-Social" dance.

DanceAm, this is the pithiest comment I have seen about social dancing in ages Super It brings to mind dozens of wallflowers standing on the sidelines wishing they were dancing, but afraid to ask someone, and the relief of seeing someone you know across the dance floor. Have dances always been this way? I think being a single at a dance (if you were a lady, anyway) must have been a rare think back in the heyday of ballroom dancing. Were there more mixers?

quote: